Angebote zu "Epub" (93 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Searching for Bobby Fischer (eBook, ePUB)
20,22 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The inspiration for the iconic film, this memoir by the father of a prodigy reflects on chess, competition, and childhood. Fred Waitzkin fell in love with chess during the Cold War–era showdown between Russian champion Boris Spassky and young American superstar Bobby Fischer. Twelve years later, Waitzkin’s own son, Joshua, discovered chess in Washington Square Park and began displaying the telltale signs of a prodigy. Soon, crowds gathered to watch the six-year-old, calling him a “Young Fischer.” An unstoppable player, little Josh was suddenly catapulted into the intense world of competitive chess. When Josh first sat down at a chessboard, he was a charming, rambunctious, rough-and-tumble child. Within weeks, he was playing the game with poise and constrained violence, as if there were a wise old man plotting moves inside him. Then, renowned coach Bruce Pandolfini discovered Josh in the park and began to refine the child’s game. In Searching for Bobby Fischer , Waitzkin recounts his journey with his son into the world of chess, from the colorful milieu of street hustlers to the international network of grandmasters. Looming large over their story is the elusive Bobby Fischer, whose mysterious disappearance from the chess world created a vacuum that would profoundly affect young Josh and his dad. Josh went on to win eight national championships before he turned twenty—but his achievements did not come without cost. In this memoir, Waitzkin explores his love and ambition for Josh, who faces pressures far beyond his years. Even as father and son travel to Moscow to watch Kasparov challenge Karpov, Waitzkin doubts his own motives: Is he pushing his son too hard? Is the game a joy to Josh, or is he just fulfilling his father’s wishes? Searching for Bobby Fischer is about more than chess. “A little gem of a book;” it is ultimately about the struggle we all face to love our families and do right by them while also setting our own paths as individuals ( The New York Times ).

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Searching For Her Prince (Mills & Boon Silhouet...
3,28 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
(3,28 € / in stock)

Searching For Her Prince (Mills & Boon Silhouette):Mills & Boon Silhouette. ePub First edition Karen Rose Smith

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 27.05.2019
Zum Angebot
Searching for True Patriotism als eBook Downloa...
6,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
(6,49 € / in stock)

Searching for True Patriotism:My Love toward the Korean Peninsula Tae-Woo Park

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 04.06.2019
Zum Angebot
The End of Night: Searching for Natural Darknes...
7,89 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
(7,89 € / in stock)

The End of Night: Searching for Natural Darkness in an Age of Artificial Light:Fourth Estate. ePub edition Paul Bogard

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 27.05.2019
Zum Angebot
If You Could Go Anywhere (eBook, ePUB)
4,59 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The brand new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author Paige Toon. The perfect summer read for 2019! HOW DO YOU FIND WHERE YOU´RE GOING, IF YOU DON´T KNOW WHERE YOU´RE FROM . . . Angie has always wanted to travel. But at twenty-seven, she has barely stepped outside the small mining town where she was born. Instead, she discovers the world through stories told to her by passing travellers, dreaming that one day she´ll see it all for herself. When her grandmother passes away, leaving Angie with no remaining family, she is ready to start her own adventures. Then she finds a letter revealing the address of the father she never knew, and realises instantly where her journey must begin: Italy. As Angie sets out to find the truth - about her family, her past and who she really is - will mysterious and reckless Italian Alessandro help guide the way? ´Heart-warming, wistful and full of joy . . . Paige Toon tugs on the heartstrings like no other; this is a beautiful book about someone searching for her place in the world and finding herself along the way´ LINDSEY KELK ´Warm, inspiring, like a holiday mood in book form´ MHAIRI MCFARLANE ´I LOVED If You Could Go Anywhere. Such a beautiful love story; not just a heady, compelling romance, but a really charming, moving story about how a life is made of so many different kinds of love . . . Will make every reader´s life feel a bit more magical´ DAISY BUCHANAN ´Family secrets, new horizons and a gorgeous continent-crossing romance . . . prepare to be swept away! LUCY DIAMOND Praise for Paige Toon´s novels: ´You´ll love it, cry buckets and be uplifted´ MARIAN KEYES ´Tender, heartbreaking and magical´ GIOVANNA FLETCHER ´Poignant and lovely, warm and wise´ MILLY JOHNSON ´A gorgeous, warm novel´ ADELE PARKS ´For smart, romantic fiction, look no further than the new book from bestselling Paige Toon´ RED ´Achingly romantic and brilliantly written . . . Five Stars!´ HEAT ´Filled with warmth and poignancy´ CATHERINE ISAAC ´Simply gorgeous´ SUN ´You won´t be able to put down this emotional read´ CLOSER ´Paige Toon is the queen of will-they/won´t-they romance, setting up an ending that will leave you in bits´ SUNDAY EXPRESS ´Full of living-in-the-moment and what-might-have-been contrasts, this tender read pulls at the heart strings´ FABULOUS ´A lovely read´ BELLA

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Escape from Mexico (eBook, ePUB)
5,94 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A young girl crosses the border illegally searching for a better life.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Becoming Unshakeable (eBook, ePUB)
8,32 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Life has a way of coming at us fast, and when it does, we´re usually left searching for answers. That´s where Patti Montella found herself early in life after the death of a beloved friend and the unraveling of her marriage-seeking the universal truths of life. When Patti met renowned spiritual leader Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, she left her corporate career to dedicate her life to uplifting society through the power of breathwork, ancient wisdom, and meditation. Becoming Unshakeable gives you a rare inside look into the life and transformation of a true seeker who rose above countless obstacles, learned from her failures, discovered her inner resilience, and uncovered the source of happiness. Patti shares fifteen life-changing Wisdom Lessons that not only help you develop newfound self-awareness, but start you on a path toward greater clarity, happiness, inner strength, and fulfillment. She also reveals the pivotal spiritual lesson she learned after decades of searching for the Divine: it had been with her the entire time.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 22.06.2019
Zum Angebot
The Fear of Doing Nothing (eBook, ePUB)
6,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In the spirit of Mikhail Bulgakov´s A Young Doctor´s Notebook and Sandeep Jauhar´s Intern, this is a deeply honest, searching examination of psychotherapy based on the experiences of a young sceptical trainee in New York City meeting his first patients. ´´Why is psychotherapy different from talking to a friend?´´ Hazanov asks. ´´Because generations of self-interested therapists told us so?´´ Through ten linked stories, we follow Hazanov as he navigates the maze of psychological theories he´s been taught, facing the alarming dissonance between them and the tragic reality of his patients´ lives. ´´How does psychotherapy work? And why do people not get any better?´´ Frustrated by fancy jargon and unrealistic depictions, Hazanov is on a quest to dispel the myths of psychotherapy and discover its essence. In The Fear of Doing Nothing he illuminates the intimacy, vulnerability and messiness of the therapeutic encounter, providing his answer to the question of what psychotherapy is.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 22.06.2019
Zum Angebot
When I Looked Away (eBook, ePUB)
3,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

She´s searching for the man who killed her daughter. But will he find her first? A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Linda Green or My Husband´s Son Gail Walton considers herself a lucky woman. She´s always enjoyed being a stay-at-home mother, raising her two beloved daughters Cindy and Jennifer with her fantastic husband Jack. Then one day her daughter Cindy is murdered. Stunned by the crime, and shocked when those closest to her are considered suspects by a foundering police investigation, Gail´s perfect life starts to fall apart. Needing to seize back control, Gail makes a resolution. She´ll give the police sixty days to find the killer. Then, if they fail, Gail is going after him alone... Tense, dark and packed with twists, this is a gripping psychological thriller from the 16-million-copy bestselling Queen of psychological suspense, Joy Fielding. ***Previously published as Life Penalty***

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.06.2019
Zum Angebot